Page 1 of 1

question about side step

Posted: 18 June 2017, 20:45
by Obsidian
Hi all.

I have a question about side step.

first the rule :
A player with this skill is an expert at stepping neatly out of the way of an attacker. To represent this ability, his coach may choose which square the player is moved to when he is pushed back, rather than the opposing coach. Furthermore, the coach may choose to move the player to any adjacent square, not just the three squares shown on the Push Back diagram. Note that the player may not use this skill if there are no open squares on the pitch adjacent to this player. Note that the coach may choose which square the player is moved to even if the player is Knocked Down after the push back

My player is pushed back, all squares are NOT full (there is another player on each). Using side step, Am I allowed to force my player to be pushed on on of the players ?

Right now, it's not possible with the game. But the only time when it's forbidden it's when "there are no open squares on the pitch adjacent" and in that specific case, you can't use side step at all.

I always played it like that (meaning, never tried to push my player on other player if there are freee squares).
But this question raised during a match, so...


thanks for your answers :)

Edit : I corrected my post according to Darkson notice ^^

Re: question about side step

Posted: 19 June 2017, 17:40
by Darkson
If all the squares are full, Side Step can't be used and the player is pushed back normally (i.e. the attacker's choice).

Re: question about side step

Posted: 20 June 2017, 12:28
by Obsidian
yep... and byr reading me again.. I realize I made a mistake..

Actually, I meant that NOT all the squares are full :) (meaning : some squares are free :P)

I correct it.
For example :

X X O
X D A
X X O

X is another player
O : empty square
D : defenser with side step.
A : Attacker

A block D. Can D be pushed on one of the "X" or not ?
In the rules, I don't see anything that would say that's forbidden. While, actually, in the game it's not allowed

Re: question about side step

Posted: 20 June 2017, 12:48
by Focus_GuillaumeQA
When the Legendary Edition will be released, you'll have the choice to use or not Side Step in this particular situation (chainpush possible).

So, if D doesn't use SS, A will have to choose one of the three cases behind D to push him

Re: question about side step

Posted: 20 June 2017, 13:08
by Obsidian
Thks Guillaume.
but the question is also about the rules.

If D use SS, can he choose to be pushed on one X ?

Re: question about side step

Posted: 20 June 2017, 13:12
by Focus_GuillaumeQA
No he can't, it seems right according to the rules.
CRP page 10 : "The player must be pushed back into an empty square if possible"

Re: question about side step

Posted: 20 June 2017, 13:14
by Obsidian
aaaahhh.. Thanks !!

Stupido! :P

I haven't thought about checking the basic rules about pushing :D :D

Re: question about side step

Posted: 20 June 2017, 13:33
by Darkson
For clarity:

Y X O
Y D A
Y X O

If A pushes D (who has Side Step), D can:
Use Side Step, in which case he has to go to one of the O spaces
Not use Side Step, in which case the opponent pushes him into one of the Y spaces (the opponents choice)

It is not possible to be pushed into X with Side Step.